Saves the Day, Motion City Soundtrack, Say Anything – Bogarts, Cincinnati, 1 November 2010

4 Nov

Saves the Day
Motion City Soundtrack
Say Anything
1 November 2010
Bogarts
Cincinnati, Ohio

I consider myself extremely lucky. I really do. I have this little site and I have The 1st Five that let me do all of my music writing. I’m also extremely lucky having grown up in the scene that I did. I grew up just outside of Montauk, Long Island. Because of that, the tristate area is my home scene regardless of where I currently live. To be more specific…I am a proud product of the New Brunswick, New Jersey basement scene. I’ve met some pretty amazing people and some pretty amazing bands through my best friends. One of those bands is Saves the Day. I can remember the first time I saw them. They were at that basement show, Geoff’s new year’s eve basement show. Saves the Day lent some of their gear to the Thursdudes / This Side of Brightness so they could play their set. Chris couldn’t have been more than 15 or 16 at the time, even though he looked all of 12. I could go on forever about that night or how our paths should have crossed a million times before but never did, but that’s all another story for another day.

So. Here we are. Almost twelve years later, and I am fortunate to have had the opportunity to shoot the band FOR the band. I was thinking back on that tragic (dare I say it…awful?) show as I driving back to my house after the show. I came to realise something. Not much has changed. They still played with the same youthful energy that they had when they released Through Being Cool. They still looked like they were having a blast. Granted, the lineup is a little bit different, and Chris’ voice is stronger now, but it works. I still had that chill; that feeling that you get when you’re witnessing something really really great for the first time…that chill that I got the first time I saw them. It really is an amazing feeling.

I guess what I really want to say is thank you. Thank you for twelve really amazing, really strange, really great years. I doubt any of them will ever actually read this, but if you do…thank you.

Ps – I bet you can’t tell which ones are digital and which ones are film.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Motion City Soundtrack

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Say Anything

Photobucket

Photobucket
Kenny Vasoli of the Starting Line on bass! What a grand surprise!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
(TWO TONGUES!!)

Photobucket

One Response to “Saves the Day, Motion City Soundtrack, Say Anything – Bogarts, Cincinnati, 1 November 2010”

  1. Carol Devenish Gembicki 07/11/2010 at 8:18 am #

    Perfect photos really stunning. Your hardwork and dedication proves what you can do.Well Done!!!

what do you think?

